Observing the natural pattern, texture and depth of color of a gemstone, I feel like I am inferring the stone’s character, which as a result defines the look of my future artworks.

Observing the natural pattern, texture and depth of color of a gemstone, I feel like I am inferring the stone’s character, which as a result defines the look of my future artworks.
Luis Alberto Quispe Aparicio was born into a family of jewelers in Peru. Since childhood, he has been bewitched by the world of precious stones. Luis did his first experiments with materials, instruments and techniques when he was a kid. He studied engineering but every day he watched how the gemstones came to life in the family workshop. This made him realize that his true passion was to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Like his sister Silvia, Luis decided to carve gemstones professionally and create jewelry, which gives people the charm of the nature set in stone.

Luis Alberto founded L’Aquart studio, which immediately gained recognition from art galleries and private collectors around the world. His carved sculptures that are made of precious stones and metals stand out with their exquisite level of workmanship, incredible combination of materials and unique dynamism. Luis Alberto personally develops the sketches, selects the minerals and then monitors the implementation of his idea. Each piece takes around two months to create.
I thought why not add life to it? Or maybe even individuality or character! I wanted to show that skulls can be lively, even joyful.
The artist has a particular love for those precious stones which have certain features: an intense color, a distinctive texture and most importantly natural flaws, which add character to each stone. Luis and his assistants are constantly travelling around the world in pursuit of the best materials. Some materials can create an entire gemstone map of the world – with rubies from Tanzania, rock crystal from Brazil, lapis lazuli from Afghanistan and an Ethiopian opal. When all of the stones are collected, there will come a time for the next step, which the artist himself thinks of in terms of a test, almost like in hero stories.

Everything starts with an idea. Luis makes a sketch of a future work while keeping an uncut stone right in front of him. Then the stone is thoroughly prepared. Its pattern and texture are closely observed and the right carving method is carefully selected in order to help reveal the unique character of the stone. The next step is complicated and dangerous, but crucial – it is machine work, requiring skills honed to perfection and an extra level of attentiveness. One wrong move may lead to the stone being cracked or totally blown to pieces, potentially injuring the artist. Water plays an indispensable role in this process. It flows non-stop to the exact place where a stone comes into contact with the tool in order to diminish friction and avoid dust and fragments from being splattered.

The final stage is the decoration of the works, where nothing limits the imagination of the artist. Luis pampers his pieces in so many ways! Details, that accentuate the original idea, have delicate imaginary forms, they are often made of gold, silver and precious or semi-precious stones.

Apart from carved pieces, L’Aquart studio creates all kinds of luxury goods from colored stones and precious metals: cutlery, writing instruments, accessories for cigars and spirits, glassware, table games and even furniture pieces. L’Aquart works with famous brands from the world of fine jewelry. For Dupont they created an exclusive series of fountain pens from amethyst quartz. For Ferrari - a miniature car model made from a solid piece of ruby, which was later auctioned in the United Arab Emirates for $1.2 million. The Walt Disney Company commissioned a special piece – a gemstone chessboard which was made specifically for a new episode of “Star Wars”.

L’Aquart is frequently invited to private events and the most prestigious auctions in the world. Luis’s artwork is being displayed across the whole world: in the Museum of Gemological Institute of America, the Faberge Museum and in the Carnegie Museum of Natural History. In the latter, for example, a stone skull “Pinky”, which is made of Peruvian opal, is being displayed. In total, 26 such skulls were created from different gemstones. Almost half of them are in Moscow: in the COLLECTION Museum, in Surround Art Gallery and in private collections.

Article by Katerina Perez
Katerina Perez about Luis Alberto Quispe Aparicio
GO TO COLLECTION

Luis Alberto
Quispe Aparicio

Проникаясь естественным узором, фактурой и глубиной цвета камня, я как-бы домысливаю его характер, что в результате формирует внешний облик моих будущих произведений.

Luis Alberto
Quispe Aparicio

Проникаясь естественным узором, фактурой и глубиной цвета камня, я как-бы домысливаю его характер, что в результате формирует внешний облик моих будущих произведений.
Луис Альберто Киспе Апарисио вырос в Перу в семье ювелиров и с детства был очарован миром драгоценных камней. Первые эксперименты с материалами, инструментами и техниками начались ещё в детстве. Луис учился на инженера, но, ежедневно наблюдая как оживают драгоценные камни в семейной мастерской, понял, что его подлинное желание — пойти по стопам родителей. Как и его сестра Сильвия, он решил профессионально заняться созданием ювелирных украшений и резьбой по камню, чтобы дарить людям очарование застывшей природы.

Луис Альберто основал компанию L’Aquart, которая сразу же завоевала признание мировых галерей и частных коллекционеров. Резные скульптуры из драгоценных камней и металлов отличают тончайшая работа, невероятные сочетания материалов и неповторимая динамика. Луис разрабатывает эскизы, отбирает минералы и лично следит за воплощением идеи. На создание одной работы среднего размера уходит около двух месяцев.
Я подумал — почему бы не добавить им жизни? А может, даже индивидуальности, характера! Мне хотелось показать, что черепа тоже могут быть живыми и даже весёлыми.
Особенную любовь мастер питает к драгоценным камням, обладающим определенными качествами: насыщенным цветом, характерной текстурой и — главное — натуральными дефектами, которые придают камню индивидуальность. Луис и его помощники постоянно путешествуют по миру в поисках лучших материалов. Некоторые изделия — настоящая драгоценная карта мира: магическим образом в них соединяются рубины из Танзании, горный хрусталь из Бразилии, лазуриты из Афганистана и опалы из Эфиопии. Когда же все камни подобраны, настаёт время следующего этапа, который сам художник считает чем-то сродни испытанию — как в сюжетах о героях.

Всё начинается с идеи. Держа в руках необработанный образец, Луис делает зарисовки его будущего преображения. Затем камень тщательно готовят к работе, исследуя его узор и фактуру, подбирая художественные приёмы, которые лучшим образом раскроют его уникальный характер. Следующий этап — сложный и опасный, но необходимый: обработка на станке. Здесь требуются отточенное мастерство и повышенная внимательность. Неудачное движение — и камень треснет или вовсе рассыпется в прах, а сам художник получит травму. Незаменимый помощник в этом процессе — вода, которая непрерывно поступает к месту соприкосновения камня и станка, смягчая трение и не давая разлететься пыли и осколкам.

Завершающая часть работы — украшение изделия. И здесь ничто не ограничивает воображение творца. Как только ни балует Луис свои произведения! Детали, подчеркивающие его замысел, выполнены в изящных фантазийных формах, зачастую из золота, серебра, драгоценных или полудрагоценных камней.

Помимо резных скульптур в мастерской L’Aquart создаются всевозможные предметы роскоши из цветных камней и драгоценных металлов: столовые приборы, письменные принадлежности, аксессуары для сигар и алкогольных напитков, посуда, настольные игры и даже предметы мебели. Компания сотрудничает с именитыми брендами из мира высокого ювелирного искусства. Для компании Dupont была создана эксклюзивная серия перьевых ручек из аметиста кварца. Для Ferrari — миниатюрная модель машины из цельного рубина, проданная на аукционе в ОАЭ за 1,2 млн долларов. По заказу Disney Луис сотворил особую вещь — драгоценную шахматную доску специально для нового эпизода “Звёздных войн”.

Компания L’Aquart является частым гостем закрытых мероприятий и самых престижных аукционов мира. Работы мастера экспонируются по всему миру: в музее Геммологического Института Америки, Музее Фаберже, Каменный череп “Pinky” из перуанского розового опала выставлен в Музее естественной истории Карнеги. Всего создано 26 таких черепов из разных самоцветов и почти половина из них находятся в Москве, в коллекции Музея “Собрание”, в Surround Art Gallery и в частных коллекциях.

Статья Катерины Перез
Катерина Перез о Луисе Альберто Киспе Апарисио
СМОТРЕТЬ КОЛЛЕКЦИЮ