傑克風暴傳記

 
如果你問一個 12 歲的傑克·斯托姆斯他想用自己的生活做什麼,他會停下來然後脫口而出一個模糊的回答,類似於“我不知道。藝術?”他一直很擅長。激情就在那裡——甚至是過剩的。藝術是他在學校的專業,畢業後傑克去了普利茅斯州立大學學習藝術史。 
 
在大學三年級時,傑克找到了一份工作,為一位玻璃藝術家工作,他一直在試驗一種獨特的技術——使用冷玻璃工藝將鉛水晶和二向色玻璃結合起來。有一個啟示的時刻。很少有大師能夠使用這種技術。切割、研磨和拋光的過程需要高度的專注、嚴格的紀律和顯著的體力。 
 
傑克對其潛力著迷,花了一年時間學習這項技術的訣竅,然後繼續他自己的實驗。 2004 年,他開設了自己的工作室——Storm Works Studio,在接下來的幾年裡,他深入研究了這個過程,花了幾個小時來完善他的技能。由於長期艱苦地尋找使生產週期現代化的方法,傑克發明了一種獨特的冷加工車床。這是一個突破,擴大了現代藝術的邊界。 
 
二向色玻璃非常堅固,它由多個超薄金屬及其氧化物微層粘合在一起組成。有趣的是,最初,這種奇妙的材料被創造用於衛星和宇航服遮陽板的光學器件。 Jack Storms 看到了這種材料的藝術價值。即使是現在,傑克仍然是世界上第一個也是最重要的藝術家,使用這種非常複雜但高貴的材料。
每件作品都需要數月的細緻工作:高度拋光的二向色玻璃片用環氧樹脂粘合在一起,使其具有正確的形狀,然後用鉛水晶覆蓋該物品。一個很好的例子是著名的棒球棒,它是專門為紐約洋基隊球員德里克·傑特 (Derek Jeter) 設計的,以紀念他在美國職業棒球大聯盟歷史上創造了 3000 次安打榜的成就。這件作品包含 3,000 片光學晶體,每次命中一個。
 
Jack Storms 的作品形式多樣,有時甚至出人意料:球體、立方體,甚至是日常用品,例如香檳杯或酒瓶。所有這些看起來都像完美切割的寶石。它們折射光束,產生獨特的光學效果,根據視角的不同,它們看起來會有所不同。粉絲稱傑克為“彩虹之王”、“色彩精靈”和“視錯覺魔術師”並非巧合。他將觀眾帶入一個璀璨奪目的寶藏世界,來到真正的阿里巴巴洞窟,時間消失在奇妙的幻境中。
 
斐波那契比率是構成每個生物生長結構的自然界數學原理,是傑克·斯托姆斯 (Jack Storms) 每件玻璃雕塑的核心。也許這就是為什麼他的作品能捕捉到觀眾的想像力,並以一種華麗的美感和光滑打磨的和諧形式讓他們驚嘆的原因之一。私人收藏家、世界各地的藝術畫廊,甚至好萊塢電影導演都夢想接觸 Storms 的作品。奇幻電影《銀河護衛隊》中傑克·斯托姆斯的兩尊雕塑具有像徵意義,再次證明了藝術家的想像力是前瞻性的、無限的。
 
這是Jack Storms 的玻璃藝術首次在俄羅斯展出,當時Surround Art Gallery 收到了藝術家的第一幅作品。夢想變成了現實——這些令人嘆為觀止的傑作現在用神奇的、傳說中的光填滿了環繞藝術畫廊神秘的暮光之城。
 

聯繫我們

此網站已受到 reCaptcha 保護,且適用 Google 隱私政策以及服務條款

Jack Storms Biography

 
If you would have asked a 12-year-old Jack Storms what he wanted to do with his life, he’d have paused and then blurted a vague answer, something akin to “I don’t know. Art?” He’d always been good at it. The passion was there — an excess of it, even. Art was his major at school, and after graduation Jack went to Plymouth State University to study art history. 
 
During his junior year at university, Jack found a job working for a glass artist who had been experimenting with a unique technique - combining lead crystal and dichroic glass using a cold-glass process. There was a moment of revelation. There are very few masters able to work with this technique. The process of cutting, grinding and polishing requires high levels of concentration, hard discipline and significant physical strength. 
 
Fascinated by its potential, Jack spent a year learning the ropes of this technique, and then continued with his own experiments. In 2004, he opened his own studio – Storm Works Studio, where in the years that followed, he delved deeper into the process, spending hours upon hours perfecting his skills. As a result of long, painstaking searches for ways to modernize his production cycle, Jack invented a unique cold-working lathe. This was a breakthrough which expanded the borders of modern art. 
 
Dichroic glass is very firm, it consists of multiple ultrathin micro-layers of metals and their oxides which are glued together. It is interesting that initially, this fantastic material was created to be used in optics for satellites and for spacesuit visors. Jack Storms saw an artistic value in this material. Even now, Jack remains the first and most important artist in the world to work with this very complex but noble material.
Each piece takes several months of meticulous work: highly polished pieces of dichroic glass are glued together with epoxy resin so as to give them the right shape, and then the item is covered with lead crystal. A good example is the famous baseball bat which was created specifically for the New York Yankee player Derek Jeter, to mark his achievement of making the 3000 hits list in the history of Major League Baseball. This work contains 3,000 pieces of optic crystal, one for each hit.
 
Jack Storms’ works are of diverse and sometimes unexpected forms: spheres, cubes and even everyday items, such as champagne glasses or wine bottles. All of them look like perfectly cut precious stones. They refract the beams of light, creating unique optical effects that can look different depending on the viewing angle. It’s no coincidence that fans call Jack “The Lord of the Rainbow”, “The Wizard of Color”, and “The Magician of Optical Illusions”. He takes his audience to a world of dazzling and stunning treasures, to the real cave of Ali Baba, where time disappears in a wonderful illusion.
 
The Fibonacci ratios, the principles of math in nature which form the growth structure of every living creature, are at the heart of each glass sculpture by Jack Storms. Perhaps this is one of the reasons why his works capture the imagination of viewers and astonish them with a magnificent beauty and harmony of smoothly polished forms. Private collectors, art galleries around the world, and even Hollywood film directors dream of getting their hands on Storms’ works. It is symbolic that two sculptures by Jack Storms were featured in the fantasy film “Guardians of the Galaxy”, which once again proves that the artist’s imagination is forward-looking and infinite.
 
It was the first time that glass art by Jack Storms has been displayed in Russia, when Surround Art Gallery received the first artwork from the artist. The dream became a reality – these breathtaking masterpieces now fill the mysterious twilight of the Surround Art Gallery with a magical, fabled light.
 

Contact us

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.